info@gpprint.co.uk   |   01733 340 622   |   About Us   |   Quick Shop
Need any help? Email us and we can do the rest.
By Pete

What are pages?

Sun 21st August 2022

Pages

Pages

Pages are simply the sides of a sheet of paper.

Every sheet of paper or leaf has 2 sides therefore 2 pages. When a sheet of paper is folded it creates 4 pages and this becomes what is traditionally known as a folded leaflet. These can also be tri folded leaflets that are folded in thirds to create 6 pages.

Once you add a further sheet to create 8 pages this is known as a booklet. The more sheets you add creates a multiple of 4 pages therefore any booklet must be divisible by 4 to ensure that you have enough printed content.

Please see the guide to thickness of material for the maximum number of pages below.

PagesGrammage
6490
56100
48120
36150
32170
28200
20250
16300
16350
12400
12450

Books are different to booklets by binding method. As previously mentioned booklets are folded sheets combined these are stapled together in the centre also known as saddle stitched in printing terms. Books are a number of sheets that are not folded. They are bound together in a number of ways such as Coil, Wiro or Perfect Bound. Because of this books can be any number of sheets creating 2 pages each addition so a multiple of 2. Coil and wiro are similar binding methods that are either a plastic (Coil) or metal (Wiro) to hold together whereas Perfect bound is what is known as a paperback book which is glueing sheets together with a board cover to finish,

Both coil and wiro can be any number of sheets whereas perfect bound books would start with 40 sheets minimum due to requiring some sort of spine to form the book properly.

As well as this coil and wiro can be any papertype whereas ideally perfect boud would be a monocoated board for the cover and uncoated paper a thickness of no more than 170gsm.

A single sheet of paper that is printed one side only or 1 page will be shown as a 2 page document printed one side only. This is due to the number of sides that are available.

Likes
« Back to Articles

Celebrate Love & the Planet with Eco-Wedding Printing Tips

Wed 22nd May 2024

Read more...

Thank you for 25 great years

Wed 1st May 2024

Read more...

Time is Money: Maximising Efficiency with Commercial Printer Speeds

Wed 17th April 2024

Read more...

Digital vs Printed Books: Which Is Best for Your Business?

Thu 21st March 2024

Read more...

Everything you need to know about printing a banner

Tue 6th February 2024

Read more...

A Beginner's Guide on How to Print a Booklet

Thu 11th January 2024

Read more...

How Does Digital Printing Work?

Tue 19th December 2023

Read more...

Where to Go for Printing Services: Finding a Trusted Partner

Thu 7th December 2023

Read more...

Five Reasons Why Printed Leaflets Are Here to Stay

Fri 6th October 2023

Read more...

We take care of you and your print

Wed 16th August 2023

Read more...

Print Finishing Options Explained

Tue 8th August 2023

Read more...

Why Paper Goods for Companies Are Essential in Today’s Digital Age

Mon 10th July 2023

Read more...

Elevate Your Beauty Business: Unlocking the Power of Print Services

Tue 6th June 2023

Read more...

Using print materials to build trust and reputation within the Trade industry

Mon 5th June 2023

Read more...

5 Ways to Reduce Your Environmental Impact When Printing

Tue 4th April 2023

Read more...

5 Printing Mistakes to Avoid

Wed 1st March 2023

Read more...

Size Matters

Sat 25th February 2023

Read more...

What is Print Ready?

Wed 15th February 2023

Read more...

In the Wedding Mood, love is in the air

Wed 8th February 2023

Read more...

DIY Wedding Favours: A Personal Touch That Will Delight Your Guests

Fri 3rd February 2023

Read more...

Extra Long Sheet Printing now at GP Print

Mon 16th January 2023

Read more...

DIY Wedding Invitations: Benefits & Printing Tips

Tue 10th January 2023

Read more...

How to Prepare Your Design For Print | Help Guide

Tue 6th December 2022

Read more...

A Brief History Of Printing

Fri 4th November 2022

Read more...

Not so comical, comic sans

Wed 26th October 2022

Read more...

Personalised touch with a local company

Fri 21st October 2022

Read more...

Meet the customers: We Love Peterborough

Tue 18th October 2022

Read more...

The Art Of Font Psychology

Tue 11th October 2022

Read more...

Why Business Cards Still Matter

Thu 13th October 2022

Read more...

The ins and outs of Printing, Myth debunking!

Thu 29th September 2022

Read more...

What are pages?

Sun 21st August 2022

Read more...

Meet the machines: Matrix Metallic

Thu 20th October 2022

Read more...

Why GP Print?

Mon 11th April 2022

Read more...

Everyone is an artist

Sat 26th March 2022

Read more...

Meet the machines: BLADE

Fri 18th March 2022

Read more...

Meet the machines: DBM 350

Mon 14th March 2022

Read more...

Meet the machines: DC-646

Fri 11th March 2022

Read more...

Image quality

Sat 5th March 2022

Read more...

Meet the team: Lorraine

Wed 14th September 2022

Read more...

Meet the team: Chris

Tue 22nd February 2022

Read more...

Our quotes explained

Fri 18th February 2022

Read more...

What is Bleed?

Wed 16th February 2022

Read more...

Lithographic Print Versus Digital Print

Tue 15th February 2022

Read more...

Power of Leaflets

Tue 8th February 2022

Read more...

Meet the team: Tabitha

Sun 6th February 2022

Read more...

New style for GTN

Fri 4th February 2022

Read more...

First Copy - Case Study

Wed 2nd February 2022

Read more...

How she felt with GP Print

Sun 30th January 2022

Read more...

Meet the customers: Just Nature

Fri 28th January 2022

Read more...

Meet the team: Peter

Wed 26th January 2022

Read more...

Supporting the local hospitals

Tue 25th January 2022

Read more...

Meet the customers: Djibo Art

Sat 22nd January 2022

Read more...

GP Print Promo Video

Thu 20th January 2022

Read more...

Evolution of the GP Print Brand

Tue 18th January 2022

Read more...

A GP Print poem

Sun 16th January 2022

Read more...

GP Print streamlines with Duplo finishing eco system

Sat 15th January 2022

Read more...

The dynamic history of the English printing process

Mon 10th January 2022

Read more...