info@gpprint.co.uk   |   01733 340 622   |   About Us   |   Quick Shop
Need any help? Email us and we can do the rest.
By Pete

5 Printing Mistakes to Avoid

Wed 1st March 2023

Printing mistakes can be frustrating, time-consuming, and expensive. Whether printing flyers for your business or creating invitations for a special event, it's essential to avoid common printing mistakes to ensure your printed materials come out perfectly every time. In this blog post, we'll discuss the top 5 printing mistakes to avoid and provide tips on preventing them.

1. Not Proofreading

One of the most common printing mistakes is needing to proofread your document before sending it to the printer. Spelling errors, grammar mistakes, and formatting issues can make your printed materials look unprofessional and may even cause confusion for your readers. To avoid this mistake, take the time to carefully proofread your document before sending it to the printer. Consider asking a colleague or friend to review it to catch any errors you may have missed.

2. Using Low-Resolution Images

Using low-resolution images can result in blurry or pixelated prints. To avoid this mistake, ensure that any pictures of your document are high-resolution and have a minimum resolution of 300 DPI (dots per inch). This will ensure that your images look clear and crisp when printed. If you need clarification on the resolution of your pictures, consider consulting with a graphic designer or printing professional.

3. Choosing the Wrong Paper

Choosing the wrong paper can also result in poor-quality prints. Different types of paper have different thicknesses, textures, and finishes that can impact the final appearance of your printed materials. For example, using glossy paper for a document with much text can result in glare and make it difficult to read. To avoid this mistake, consider the purpose of your printed materials and choose a paper appropriate for your document's content and style.

4. Incorrect Bleed Settings

Bleed refers to the area of a printed document that extends beyond the trim edge of the page. This is important to consider when printing materials with backgrounds or images extending to the edge of the page. You may have a white border around your document or uneven edges without proper bleed settings. To avoid this mistake, ensure your document has the correct bleed settings before sending it to the printer. If you need help setting up bleed in your document, consult a printing professional or refer to your printer's user manuals.

5. Ignoring Printer Margins

Printer margins refer to the amount of space between the edge of the page and the printable area. Different printers have different margin requirements, and ignoring these margins can result in text or images being cut off or distorted. To avoid this mistake, ensure your document has the correct margins before sending it to the printer. Most printers have default margin settings, but you can adjust these settings in your document software if necessary.

In conclusion, avoiding common printing mistakes can save you time, money, and frustration. By taking the time to proofread your document, using high-resolution images, choosing the right paper, setting up bleed correctly, and paying attention to printer margins, you can ensure that your printed materials come out perfectly every time. If you still need to figure out how to avoid these mistakes, consider consulting with a printing professional for guidance and advice.

Print specialists, GP Print, are here to help you get the best printed products at the best price with no faff. For all print needs, questions or consultations, check out our Peterborough print services

Likes
« Back to Articles

Celebrate Love & the Planet with Eco-Wedding Printing Tips

Wed 22nd May 2024

Read more...

Thank you for 25 great years

Wed 1st May 2024

Read more...

Time is Money: Maximising Efficiency with Commercial Printer Speeds

Wed 17th April 2024

Read more...

Digital vs Printed Books: Which Is Best for Your Business?

Thu 21st March 2024

Read more...

Everything you need to know about printing a banner

Tue 6th February 2024

Read more...

A Beginner's Guide on How to Print a Booklet

Thu 11th January 2024

Read more...

How Does Digital Printing Work?

Tue 19th December 2023

Read more...

Where to Go for Printing Services: Finding a Trusted Partner

Thu 7th December 2023

Read more...

Five Reasons Why Printed Leaflets Are Here to Stay

Fri 6th October 2023

Read more...

We take care of you and your print

Wed 16th August 2023

Read more...

Print Finishing Options Explained

Tue 8th August 2023

Read more...

Why Paper Goods for Companies Are Essential in Today’s Digital Age

Mon 10th July 2023

Read more...

Elevate Your Beauty Business: Unlocking the Power of Print Services

Tue 6th June 2023

Read more...

Using print materials to build trust and reputation within the Trade industry

Mon 5th June 2023

Read more...

5 Ways to Reduce Your Environmental Impact When Printing

Tue 4th April 2023

Read more...

5 Printing Mistakes to Avoid

Wed 1st March 2023

Read more...

Size Matters

Sat 25th February 2023

Read more...

What is Print Ready?

Wed 15th February 2023

Read more...

In the Wedding Mood, love is in the air

Wed 8th February 2023

Read more...

DIY Wedding Favours: A Personal Touch That Will Delight Your Guests

Fri 3rd February 2023

Read more...

Extra Long Sheet Printing now at GP Print

Mon 16th January 2023

Read more...

DIY Wedding Invitations: Benefits & Printing Tips

Tue 10th January 2023

Read more...

How to Prepare Your Design For Print | Help Guide

Tue 6th December 2022

Read more...

A Brief History Of Printing

Fri 4th November 2022

Read more...

Not so comical, comic sans

Wed 26th October 2022

Read more...

Personalised touch with a local company

Fri 21st October 2022

Read more...

Meet the customers: We Love Peterborough

Tue 18th October 2022

Read more...

The Art Of Font Psychology

Tue 11th October 2022

Read more...

Why Business Cards Still Matter

Thu 13th October 2022

Read more...

The ins and outs of Printing, Myth debunking!

Thu 29th September 2022

Read more...

What are pages?

Sun 21st August 2022

Read more...

Meet the machines: Matrix Metallic

Thu 20th October 2022

Read more...

Why GP Print?

Mon 11th April 2022

Read more...

Everyone is an artist

Sat 26th March 2022

Read more...

Meet the machines: BLADE

Fri 18th March 2022

Read more...

Meet the machines: DBM 350

Mon 14th March 2022

Read more...

Meet the machines: DC-646

Fri 11th March 2022

Read more...

Image quality

Sat 5th March 2022

Read more...

Meet the team: Lorraine

Wed 14th September 2022

Read more...

Meet the team: Chris

Tue 22nd February 2022

Read more...

Our quotes explained

Fri 18th February 2022

Read more...

What is Bleed?

Wed 16th February 2022

Read more...

Lithographic Print Versus Digital Print

Tue 15th February 2022

Read more...

Power of Leaflets

Tue 8th February 2022

Read more...

Meet the team: Tabitha

Sun 6th February 2022

Read more...

New style for GTN

Fri 4th February 2022

Read more...

First Copy - Case Study

Wed 2nd February 2022

Read more...

How she felt with GP Print

Sun 30th January 2022

Read more...

Meet the customers: Just Nature

Fri 28th January 2022

Read more...

Meet the team: Peter

Wed 26th January 2022

Read more...

Supporting the local hospitals

Tue 25th January 2022

Read more...

Meet the customers: Djibo Art

Sat 22nd January 2022

Read more...

GP Print Promo Video

Thu 20th January 2022

Read more...

Evolution of the GP Print Brand

Tue 18th January 2022

Read more...

A GP Print poem

Sun 16th January 2022

Read more...

GP Print streamlines with Duplo finishing eco system

Sat 15th January 2022

Read more...

The dynamic history of the English printing process

Mon 10th January 2022

Read more...