info@gpprint.co.uk   |   01733 340 622   |   About Us   |   Quick Shop
Need any help? Email us and we can do the rest.

Size Matters

Sat 25th February 2023

It really does matter when it comes to print.

Size Matters

Size Matters

When supplying artwork to us that you would like to have printed a certain size it is important that you either have supplied the right size or at least a size that we can change to the required size. A couple of things to remember is that we can shrink artwork easily enough but increasing the size can result in pixelation which means the image will not be as clear. This is not always the case if the supplied file is a PDF and is outlined or a vector then the size can be increased and decreased without any loss of quality.

Ratio

The other thing to remember is that the ratio of width to height needs to be maintained so not to stretch one way giving an out of proportion look to the final print. Ideally if you are supplying an image that isn’t the right size it needs to be able to shrink down to a size that proportionally matches for example from A4 to A5. If a custom size such as 150x100mm for instance then each side needs to be reduced equally. By reducing by half you will end up with 75x50mm.

Image Size

If supplying an image such as a JPG or PNG file then knowing if you have the right size is easy enough with a calculation. Based on the image quality being 300dpi you can get an idea of the size by using the pixel size, the calculation is pixels x 11.811 = millimetres. Do this for both width and height to give the overall document size.

Inch to mm

Another helpful calculation is inch to mm, this is easily multiplied by 25.4 so 6 inches to mm is 6x25.4 to get 152.4mm if working backwards from mm to inches simply divide the mm by 25.4 to give the inches.

Bleed

One more thing to consider when supplying your artwork is bleed. We have covered what is bleed previously. When supplying your artwork you need to add 2mm to each side meaning if you want the finished size to be 150x100mm your artwork will need to be 154x104mm if the background colour image is to appear to run edge to edge.

Spine width

Another nice calculation we use is knowing what spine size to make for your covers when creating books. We use a calculation based on converting the gsm of the paper to microns. 130gsm being 0.130micron. Multiply this by the number of sheets of paper known as leaves (Pages divided by 2, pages are faces of a sheet) for example 120 sheets x 0.13 is equal to 15.6mm. Round up for good measure and add 1mm to allow for score and glue room.

Text Size

Text size is an important thing to think about. Having all your text all on your one sided leaflet is great but what if most people cannot read it? As a rule we say that 6pt is the smallest you want to go. Bear in mind though that a large percentage of people still cannot read at this size. 8pt you are likely to hit up to 3 quarters of people and 10pts should hit the majority.

With this in mind there is also the chance that people are viewing from a distance if you create a poster. If you were to use the following table to give an idea of what can be seen at a ideal distance.

Distance in MetresMin font size in pointsMin resolution in dpi
0.6 arms length6300
110180
1.514120
21890
33060
54835
109618
1512512

Now we've gone over the important bits, it's time to consider who you trust to personalise your products or create your paper goods. If you live in or around East Anglia, don't forget to check us out at GP Prints for everything you need when it comes to personalisation and printing in Peterborough.

Likes
« Back to Articles

Celebrate Love & the Planet with Eco-Wedding Printing Tips

Wed 22nd May 2024

Read more...

Thank you for 25 great years

Wed 1st May 2024

Read more...

Time is Money: Maximising Efficiency with Commercial Printer Speeds

Wed 17th April 2024

Read more...

Digital vs Printed Books: Which Is Best for Your Business?

Thu 21st March 2024

Read more...

Everything you need to know about printing a banner

Tue 6th February 2024

Read more...

A Beginner's Guide on How to Print a Booklet

Thu 11th January 2024

Read more...

How Does Digital Printing Work?

Tue 19th December 2023

Read more...

Where to Go for Printing Services: Finding a Trusted Partner

Thu 7th December 2023

Read more...

Five Reasons Why Printed Leaflets Are Here to Stay

Fri 6th October 2023

Read more...

We take care of you and your print

Wed 16th August 2023

Read more...

Print Finishing Options Explained

Tue 8th August 2023

Read more...

Why Paper Goods for Companies Are Essential in Today’s Digital Age

Mon 10th July 2023

Read more...

Elevate Your Beauty Business: Unlocking the Power of Print Services

Tue 6th June 2023

Read more...

Using print materials to build trust and reputation within the Trade industry

Mon 5th June 2023

Read more...

5 Ways to Reduce Your Environmental Impact When Printing

Tue 4th April 2023

Read more...

5 Printing Mistakes to Avoid

Wed 1st March 2023

Read more...

Size Matters

Sat 25th February 2023

Read more...

What is Print Ready?

Wed 15th February 2023

Read more...

In the Wedding Mood, love is in the air

Wed 8th February 2023

Read more...

DIY Wedding Favours: A Personal Touch That Will Delight Your Guests

Fri 3rd February 2023

Read more...

Extra Long Sheet Printing now at GP Print

Mon 16th January 2023

Read more...

DIY Wedding Invitations: Benefits & Printing Tips

Tue 10th January 2023

Read more...

How to Prepare Your Design For Print | Help Guide

Tue 6th December 2022

Read more...

A Brief History Of Printing

Fri 4th November 2022

Read more...

Not so comical, comic sans

Wed 26th October 2022

Read more...

Personalised touch with a local company

Fri 21st October 2022

Read more...

Meet the customers: We Love Peterborough

Tue 18th October 2022

Read more...

The Art Of Font Psychology

Tue 11th October 2022

Read more...

Why Business Cards Still Matter

Thu 13th October 2022

Read more...

The ins and outs of Printing, Myth debunking!

Thu 29th September 2022

Read more...

What are pages?

Sun 21st August 2022

Read more...

Meet the machines: Matrix Metallic

Thu 20th October 2022

Read more...

Why GP Print?

Mon 11th April 2022

Read more...

Everyone is an artist

Sat 26th March 2022

Read more...

Meet the machines: BLADE

Fri 18th March 2022

Read more...

Meet the machines: DBM 350

Mon 14th March 2022

Read more...

Meet the machines: DC-646

Fri 11th March 2022

Read more...

Image quality

Sat 5th March 2022

Read more...

Meet the team: Lorraine

Wed 14th September 2022

Read more...

Meet the team: Chris

Tue 22nd February 2022

Read more...

Our quotes explained

Fri 18th February 2022

Read more...

What is Bleed?

Wed 16th February 2022

Read more...

Lithographic Print Versus Digital Print

Tue 15th February 2022

Read more...

Power of Leaflets

Tue 8th February 2022

Read more...

Meet the team: Tabitha

Sun 6th February 2022

Read more...

New style for GTN

Fri 4th February 2022

Read more...

First Copy - Case Study

Wed 2nd February 2022

Read more...

How she felt with GP Print

Sun 30th January 2022

Read more...

Meet the customers: Just Nature

Fri 28th January 2022

Read more...

Meet the team: Peter

Wed 26th January 2022

Read more...

Supporting the local hospitals

Tue 25th January 2022

Read more...

Meet the customers: Djibo Art

Sat 22nd January 2022

Read more...

GP Print Promo Video

Thu 20th January 2022

Read more...

Evolution of the GP Print Brand

Tue 18th January 2022

Read more...

A GP Print poem

Sun 16th January 2022

Read more...

GP Print streamlines with Duplo finishing eco system

Sat 15th January 2022

Read more...

The dynamic history of the English printing process

Mon 10th January 2022

Read more...